Home PageAmmanford Station AnimationHistory and Group PhotosFire Calls upto 1977Fire Calls upto 2004Fund Raising AchievementsFire Prevention and Community Fire SafetyForced Strike ActionRetired Members and their Memoirs
Efficiency Shield 1961 Efficiency Shield 1963 Efficiency Shield Treasure Hunt Myrddin Evans Cricket Evening Awards

Elwyn awarded his Sub Officers Certifiacte

Efficient Shield 1 Efficient Shield 2 Efficient Shield 3 Treasure Hunt Myrddin's Award Cricket Awards Elwyn's Exam




Most efficient fire brigade in two counties is the title which the Ammanford brigade can now claim, after winning the station efficiency competition at Carmarthen on Saturday.

Competing against Carmarthen, last year's winners, 324 points and Aberystwyth, 310 points Ammanford collected a total of 329 points to win the competition for the first time ever.

Last year the Ammanford team was unplaced in the final.

Highlights of their performance was the speed drill. It took Ammanford just one minute to get a pump into open water, reel off two hoses 150 feet in length and knock down two targets with the water jets.


The efficiency trophy, an inscribed shield, was presented to Sub-officer Harry Arthur by Miss Mollie Philips High Sheriff of Carmarthenshire. The team was also presented with a cheque for £7 7s which will be donated to the children's Christmas party fund.

The competition is judged on the efficiency of administration in the station, the condition of appliances and equipment, the condition of station premises and grounds and the general efficiency and smartness of the staff.

The rivalry is kept alive by these competitions. A job well done

November 9, 1961

The winning team members triumphantly display the station efficiency shield won in Carmarthen. Members of the team are,

fireman Miros Anthony, Idris Davies and Robert Bush.

fireman E. T. Davies, station officer O. B. Coggins,
sub-officer Harry Arthur and fireman Benny Williams.

Pic West Wales Press Ltd, Carmarthen

A proud moment for Harry. But as he told me for his men also

The High Sheriff of Carmarthen, Miss Mollie Philips presents the Fire Service Efficiency Shield to Sub-Officer W. H. Arthur, of Ammanford, after his unit had won the competition held at the Fire Service Headquarters in Carmarthen. Also in the picture is Chief Fire Officer D. Gerald Jones

A good few pints sunk after this, that's for sure


SUB-OFFICER W. H. ARTHUR of Ammanford holds the efficiency shield which his team won at a contest at Carmarthenshire-Cardiganshire Fire Brigade H.Q. at Carmarthen.

Also in the picture are Station Officer O. Coggins, Firemen B. Williams, I. Davies, R. Bush, M. Anthony and E. T. Davies.



Top of Page