Home PageAmmanford Station AnimationHistory and Group PhotosFire Calls upto 1977Fire Calls upto 2004Fund Raising AchievementsFire Prevention and Community Fire SafetyForced Strike ActionRetired Members and their Memoirs
Efficiency Shield 1961 Efficiency Shield 1963 Efficiency Shield Treasure Hunt Myrddin Evans Cricket Evening Awards

Elwyn awarded his Sub Officers Certifiacte

Efficient Shield 1 Efficient Shield 2 Efficient Shield 3 Treasure Hunt Myrddin's Award Cricket Awards Elwyn's Exam


The big man himself. A character sorely missed by all

May 20, 1976

Winner of the 1976 Treasure Hunt organised by the Ammanford Fire Brigade was Mr. Len Davies, of Heol Wallasey. Third was Mr. Michael Cooper.

The 16-mile course set by last year's winner, Mr. Philip Watts, tested the imagination of the competitors.

It began at the Fire Station and ended at the Wernoleu Hotel, Ammanford, where presentation of the awards took place followed by a “chicken and chips” supper and dancing.

The winner's trophy, donated by Mr. Glyn Walsh, Chief Fire Officer of Dyfed Brigade, was presented to the winner by Mr. Stan Lewis, Assistant Divisional Officer.

Mr. Lewis also gave the runners-up their awards. He was assisted by Mr. David Grove, Station Officer at Ammanford.

Picture shows Mr. Davies receiving the trophy from Mr. Stan Lewis. Looking on is Mr. David Grove, Station Officer at Ammanford.

Top of Page