Home PageAmmanford Station AnimationHistory and Group PhotosFire Calls upto 1977Fire Calls upto 2004Fund Raising AchievementsFire Prevention and Community Fire SafetyForced Strike ActionRetired Members and their Memoirs


  16/6/1960   Sept 1964  
    D. W. Jones   Harry Arthur   Benny Williams   Sid Philips   Len Davies   Rolland Lewis
WG Harries   D.W. Jones   Harry Arthur   Benny Williams   Sid Philips   Len Davies   Rolland's Shoes

FIREMAN Sid Philips Retirement

Sid Philips and his good friends
Front Row (L-R)

County Councillor Howard Cooke; Assistant Divisional Officer
Trevor Rees; Fireman Sid Philips; Sub Officer Bob Bush;
Station Officer David Grove; Assistant Divisional Officer
Stan Lewis,

Back Row (L-R)

Leading Fireman Len Davies (representing retained firemen);
Control Officer John Bowen; Mr. Benny Williams
(retired fireman), and County Councillor Myrddin Evans

30 years service in fire brigade

Mr. Sid Philips, of Margaret Street, Ammanford, retired last week from the Dyfed County Fire Brigade, after 30 year's service, most of which had been spent at Ammanford, Llanelli and Carmarthen fire stations.

A social evening was held at Ammanford R.F.C. clubhouse to mark his retirement, when he was presented with an electric clock by Station Officer David Grove, the officer in charge of Ammanford Fire Station, on behalf of his colleagues, and a cheque by Assistant Divisional Officer Stan Lewis from the county fire brigade club. (Chief Officer Glyn D. Walsh, chairman of the Brigade Welfare was unable to attend).